What I read is who I am…

The title says it all, or at least hints at most of it. I’ve noticed that what I read affects what I do, what I say and how I think, to greater or lessor points depending on how well written whatever I’m read is.

Over the years, I’ve had a handful of books that have changed a whole week or more of my life. Once, when I was reading Thrice Upon a Time by Jame P. Hogan, I read a lot slower, savoring the book and worrying about what was going to happen next, if everything would turn out right or not. I’d elaborate on that a bit, but I’m going to keep from any kind of spoilers on my blog (unless I just can’t help myself). When I finished the book, it lingered with me… to this day, nearly ten years later, I still remember vividly wondering how the book would turn out.

That’s not something I can say about a lot of the books I read, I enjoy most of them, but I don’t find myself as wrapped up in the story as I might be. I’ve tried to understand why that is, but I’ve never found the exact reason, something in how a book is written just captures my mind for the duration of the book and beyond. That’s a sign of good writing, something that I’ve been trying to create in my own writing, whether or not I’ve done a good job is anyone’s guess, maybe in twenty years I’ll find out.

I’d really like to know if I’m the only one who has noticed this, or if other people have gone through the same thing with certain books.

Thanks for reading!

Do you have anything to say?

