Delay in experiment

I delayed my Linux experiment for a number of reasons, mostly because I didn’t have enough time to dedicate to it. I did manage to create a bootable USB drive and try it on another computer, it works wonderfully. I haven’t tried it on this computer yet, but it’s only a matter of time before I manage to locate enough hours to give it a good try.

I’m trying Macbuntu,  for my experiment, mostly because I expect my next computer will be a Mac. The Macbuntu distro emulates the look and  feel of OSX, which I’m looking forward to.

One of the reasons I’m planning on switching from a Windows PC to a Mac is because I believe in Apple more than I do Microsoft. I’ve read numerous articles online in which experts say that Mircrosoft might not be around for more than another decade… no one is predicting anything like that for Apple or the Mac. Another reason is that I’ve already got an iPad and an iPod, so a Mac just seems like a logical next step.

My only other real option for a new computer would be to build one from scratch, one that I would most likely put Linux on instead of Windows. I don’t like what screen shots I’ve seen of Windows 8, plus building a computer can be expensive, a free OS would cut down the cost quite a bit.

Anyway, I’m going to attempt to try booting this computer from my USB boot drive tomorrow, Monday at the latest. Then I’ll get it online, assuming it works and can connect to the web. After that, one of the first things I’ll do is post here.

Thanks for reading!

Do you have anything to say?

