Random thought for December 16th 2013

I realized something odd recently:
The ‘winter’ holidays (October through April) are all basically extortion holidays. Now before anyone unfollows my blog, I’d like a chance to explain my thoughts, they use a bit of twisted logic, but stay with me for a moment.

This is how people view the holidays in question:

  • Halloween: give me candy!
  • Thankagiving: give me turkey!
  • Christmas: give me gifts!
  • New Years: give me champaign!
  • While this is simplifying quite a bit, at the core, it’s the way most people treat these holidays.
    That said, the ‘summer’ holidays aren’t much better, they basically boil down to “let’s grill hotdogs and hamburgers, then watch baseball.”
    I blame corporations for this, at least mostly, but I’ll be the first to admit that it’s everyone’s fault, we let ourselves be led to the point where holidays all revolve around money.
    Perhaps everyone should be forced read read (or watch) ‘A Christmas Carol’ every year.

    What do you think? Am I a fool, or has everyone become to greedy with regard to holidays?
    Thanks for reading.

    3 thoughts on “Random thought for December 16th 2013

    Do you have anything to say?

    